Community Foundation of Portage and District

11 - Second Street N.E. P.O. Box 1153
Portage La Prairie, MB   R1N 3J9
ph: 204-856-1971 :: email

Registered Charitable Number: BN140 660 846 RR0001

Manitoba Region: North Central


To enhance and enrich the quailty of life in Portage la Prairie and District by supporting and promoting philanthropy through endowment building, donor services, grantmaking and community leadership.


The Community Foundation of Portage and District is a public foundation serving the charitable needs of donors and grants seekers alike. The contributions of donors from all walks of life are pooled into permanent, income earning endowment funds which continue to grow in order to provide funding for local community priorities for many years to come.


Paul Davidson - Chair
Carey Duncan - Vice Chair
Wayne Klippenstein - Treasurer
Lou Antonissen - Past Chair
Cathy Vanstone
Dawn Froese
Jeff Bereza
Anita Janzen-Gemmell
Gail Patterson
Blair Geisel
Lucy Kinnear


Karen Braden - Executive Director
Jane Human
Rhonda McKnight


Jim Pehura
Stephanie Verhoeven
Norma Johnston
Larry Pettinger
Deanne Mitchell
Alana Bolton

Foundation Funds

Arlan Asham Award Fund To provide award to Portage Collegiate students who are dedicated and committed to the multiple school teams over their high school years
Children in Need Fund To provide food, clothing, shelter and comfort for children of all ages in the Portage and District
John Rennie Memorial Fund To support ArtsSmarts Projects in the Portage and District School Division
Oakville and District Community Endowment Fund To support activities and projects in the Oakville area
Portage Arts, Culture and Heritage Fund To assist local projects that represents aspects of the arts, the advancement of culture or preservation of local heritage
Portage & District Arts Council Bursary Fund To support residents of the Portage area that demonstrate an existing interest in the Arts and a keen desire to develop their talents.
Portage Collegiate Institute Philanthropy Fund Youth in Philanthropy Fund was created to support projects of registered charities selected by the Youth Advisory Committee
Portage la Prairie Lions Club Fund To provide grants to qualified charities recommended by Lions Club
Sports and Recreation Fund To support sports and recreation charitable purposes in Portage la Prairie and area. 
Prairie Sounds Festival Fund To provide a source of annual income for the Prairie Sound Festival. The Festival promotes and encourages participation in the performing arts.
Burnside Cemetery Fund To support the perpetual care of the Burnside cemetery.
Dr. Robert E and Charlotte L. Jones Fund To provide much need funding to Portage la Prairie Heritage projects which includes the CPR Station Station Interpretive Centre
Luis Luna Fund for Multiculturalism and Diversity To support local effort towards Multiculturalism and Diversity in our community.

Grant Deadlines

April 1 and October 1

Recent Grants

2015 Grants
Portage la Prairie Heritage Inc Electrical upgrade to CPR Station $2,000
Portage & District Arts Council Safety mats for movement program $1,900
Portage Handivan Inc New smaller van $15,000
West End Day Care Open storage units $4,900
Prairie Players Replace stage deck $3,200
Scouts Canada 5th Portage Beavers, Cubs, Scouts-camping equipment $6,000
Big Brother Big Sisters Renovations to new office space $8,200
Portage Community Centre Repair leaking roof $15,000
Portage Day Care For renovations to new space $50,000
Centennial Community Club Purchase of two heating units & lighting $20,000
La Verendrye School Breakfast Program Freezer, commercial toaster $1,500
Portage Collegiate Institute - Photography program Cameras $5,000
Portage Collegiate Institute - Football Team Helmets $10,000
Portage Plains United Way Non-profit executive directors training $3,500


Foundation Highlights

CFPD's 20th anniversary celebration a resounding success!

Our 20th Anniversary Celebration was held on June 2, 2014 at the William Glesby Centre. Guest speaker was Rick Frost, CEO of The Winnipeg Foundation.

Impact Grant goes to Portage School Division

Lou Antonissen, Chair of CFPD, presented Dave Citulsky, Chair of the Portage School Board, with $100,000 Grant to pave Yellowquill School track.

« Go Back

© Copyright 2016 The Winnipeg Foundation. All rights reserved.   ::   Privacy Policy : Site Map
Website design & database development by The November Group, Winnipeg.
© Copyright 2016 Endow Manitoba. All rights reserved.
Endow Manitoba
font size: a a a : default size
print page